Tags

, , , , , ,

In getting ready for my final presentation for my Certification of Educational Technology and Information Literacy (CoETaIL@YIS) on December 1 at Yohohama International School in Yokohama, Japan, I made the following video to show how I integrated technology into my classes at a redefinition level. I teach yearbook journalism at Christian Academy in Japan, in a high school in Tokyo, Japan and this year I was faced with two challenges from the very beginning. Only ten students wanted to join my yearbook journalism class this year, and nine of those ten were new. My students came into the classroom with little or no knowledge of how to use Adobe InDesign or Photoshop, as well has no knowledge of how to put together a yearbook. The second issue arose that in order to even get 10 students, I would have two separate class periods of yearbook students due to conflicts in schedules. No one could change their class section to have all of them in the room at the same time. How were we going to collaborate and communicate with two different class sessions?

I decided on two different courses of action. One, I would encourage the students to watch video tutorials on how to use the software from home, one hour per night, for one month, 5 days a week using Lynda.com tutorials. Second, I would set up an Edmodo class and ask my students to join the class, so that the two class sections could share thoughts, links, and visual concepts online in a social media platform.

The following video demonstrates technology integration into a high school yearbook journalism class using a flipped classroom learning strategy and social media to promote collaboration and communication. Learning takes place both inside and outside of the classroom in a blended learning environment that promotes anytime at any place learning.

