As a final project for my last course in my COETAIL@YIS, I was asked to integrate technology into my classroom at the transformational level either using SAMR or TPACK models. I understand the simplicity of the SAMR model better. According to the NSW Department of Education,

S A M R provides a framework to answer the question of what types of technology use would have greater or lesser effects upon student learning. The name comes from the four levels of technology use that could be related directly to results in terms of what happened on the student side. S A M R was created by Dr. Ruben R. Puentedura’s in the early 90s .

  • Substitution – Technology acts as a direct tool substitute with no functional improvement
  • Augmentation – Technology acts as a direct tool substitute with functional improvement
  • Modification – Technology allows for significant task redesign
  • Redefinition – Tech allows for the creation of new tasks, previously inconceivable”

SAMR

At the beginning of the school year, I had a personal goal in mind. I wanted to learn how to use Edmodo, Evernote, and Diigo and to eventually introduce these new technologies to my high school students.

I have been using Evernote for about a year, but probably not very effectively and I have not introduced it to my students. I’m still trying to get better with it first. But recently I was  so surprised with how easily I used Skitch in connection with Evernote. I wanted to find some sample fonts and send screen capture shots to my daughter for her approval for her website. I first logged into my Evernote account and then opened the Skitch application on my computer. Once I located a font that I liked I switch to Skitch and chose the snap button and I was able to crop just the image of the font that I wanted. Then I clicked on the Elephant icon at the top that symbolizes Evernote and I was able to set up a new notebook for all of my images to go to from Skitch to Evernote. Once I had a collection of images, I sent all of the images by email from Evernote. It was so easy. I was amazed at the ease of use without any training, I was intuitively able to figure out what to do. I really recommend both of these two apps for your Mac.

Website on the ease of use between Skitch and Evernote

Now I want to use this same technology in my classroom. It is time to start looking for fonts from font foundries that are online, to purchase for this year’s yearbook. I thought I could first make sure my tech guys are okay with installing the two free apps for Mac, Skitch and Evernote to the computers that are in my classroom. Then I want my students to sign up for an Evernote account. Then I want them to start looking for fonts and sharing them in Evernote. I then want them to set up a folder in Evernote that can be shared by everyone in the class to see. It may mean the screen shots first go into Evernote and then they need to be dragged into a notebook that is shared by the whole group.

I am really excited about redefining my classroom using technology. Sharing ideas that students find online has never been easier than now with new technologies at our finger tips. We just need to know which ones are good and a little experience with them ourselves so that as educators we can see the value of introducing it to our students as new ways for them to learn to become more productive learners, assist them in organizing their thoughts, and help find ways for them to share their ideas with others collaboratively.

