Tags

, ,

While the name “iCloud” presents a lovely image, trying to discern what the service actually does from that moniker alone is a tad unclear. In a nutshell, the service aims to sync up your devices—both iOS and desktop—no matter which one you’re using at any given moment. It does so by providing a central online repository for your mail, contacts, calendars, purchases, photos, documents, and backup; your devices collectively sync and pull information from this central server, thus keeping everything up-to-date. iCloud: What We Already Know MacWorld.com Oct. 4, 2011

About a month ago, I moved to Mac OS X operating system Lion, so that I could take advantage of the IOS 5 and cloud computing on all of my Apple devices. I have an iPhone 3GS, old version of iPod touch, iPad2, and a MacBook Pro.(I even have a MobileMe account.) Keeping all of my devices synced was always a hassled and time consuming. A few weeks ago I signed up for iTunes Match, thinking this $25 a year subscription would be the answer to simplifying my life. Well it still may be, but I had to do a little research on the Net first to find out why many of my songs on my iPhone, no longer had album art. I thought that I was probably missing a lot of songs on my list that I thought should have been updated and synced to the cloud, but failed to do so. I asked my tech coordinator, and Mac Guru, if he knew what the problem could be. He immediately knew what I was talking about because he had ran into the same problem. He directed me to an article written by Jason Snell from MacWorld online, that explained why some of my songs did not immediately go to the cloud, and how I could get them into the cloud. Essentially you need to:

  1. Make a smart playlist.
  2. Delete your music from this playlist from your iTunes library
  3. Download your purchased music again into your iTunes library

These three simple steps help get hundreds of my songs into iCloud, and my album art came with the new downloaded versions.

Often I find myself getting stuck, and I have to find ways to get out of a jam. I have an online subscription with Lynda.com that helps me with software questions. But when I have a Mac issue I usually turn to MacWorld or Mac/Life. I also like the fact that both of these magazines are available online to search for quick solutions to problems. Technology keeps changing and it is hard to keep up with it. Knowing where to go, to find your answers is half the battle.

